Discrimination at work is a complicated subject.  The key legislation is the Equality Act 2010 (EA).
The EA offers protection to the UK work force in all sections of employment.

Protected Characteristics
The purpose of the EA is to prevent workers from being subjected to unfavourable treatment due to having a protected characteristic.

Types of Discrimination

The recognised forms of discrimination are direct discrimination, indirect discrimination, harassment and victimisation.  There are additional types specific to disability discrimination, namely failure to make reasonable adjustments and discrimination arising from disability.

Making a Claim

There are various types of discrimination claims that can be made.

Unlike other areas (such as unfair dismissal) there is no minimum continuous service requirement to bring a discrimination claim.  There are however strict time limits, which can often be a complicating factor.  The time limit to bring a claim is usually 3 months less one day from the date of the discriminatory act complained of.

Managing this area can be difficult and advice is recommended. We are well versed in discrimination claims and can offer you the advice and assistance you need.

Protected Characteristics



gender reassignment

marriage & civil partnership

pregnancy & maternity


religion or belief


sexual orientation

Get the support you need.

Authorised and regulated by the Bar Standards Board

Call Us Today
Stay Connected